Track Athlete of the Year: Hannah Riggins, Del Norte

The Princeton-bound senior collected two individual section records plus was the key member of the state champion 4×800-meter relay team. Riggins started the record spree when she clocked a time of 2 minutes, 6.69 seconds in the 800 at the Arcadia Invitational — eclipsing the 2:08.00 set by Mt. Carmel’s Lesley Noll in 1985. At the state championships, Riggins focused on the 1,600 and the relay, running a 4:41.42 for third in the 1,600, erasing the previous section best of 4:41.71 by Torrey Pines’ Alli Billmeyer in 2011. Riggins saved the best for last as she scorched a 2:07.30 leg, giving sophomore Paige Echsner a comfortable lead that she easily held as Del Norte bettered its own section record at 8:55.99 in the 4×800.

Field Athlete of the Year: Iliana Downing, La Costa Canyon

A junior, Downing was the most consistent pole vaulter in California and showed it in the state championships. Downing came into the state meet as the state leader, soaring over 14 feet to win the North County Conference title. That 14-footer was equal to the second best in section history, behind only the 14-6 by Rancho Bernardo’s Ashley Callahan in 2021. At the state meet, Downing cleared five successive heights on her first attempt, including the winner at 13-5. She had the bar moved to a state-meet record 14-3, missing three times, before climbing to the victory stand.

First team

Event: Name; School; Yr.

100M: Amirah Shaheed; Madison; Jr.

200M: Amirah Shaheed; Madison; Jr.

400M: Payton Smith; La Jolla; Jr.

800M: Tessa Buswell; Poway; Jr.

1,600M: Chiara Dailey; La Jolla; Fr.

3,200M: Gioana Lopizzo; La Costa Canyon; Jr.

100H: Anisa Bowen-Fontenot; San Diego; So.

300H: Anisa Bowen-Fontenot; San Diego; So.

4×100: Jahmyia Richardson (Jr.), Ily Barclay (Fr.), Brionna Dickens (Jr.), Nicoletta Burkhardt (Jr.), Steele Canyon

4×400: Morgan Herbst (So.), Jillian Herrera (So.), Audrey Sinnett (Jr.), Makenna Herbst (So.), Carlsbad

4×800: Emily Russo (So.), Brianna Busse (Jr.), Hannah Riggins (Sr.), Paige Echsner (So.), Del Norte

Long jump: Jenna Fields; Santana; Sr.

Triple jump: Amari Vaughn; Steele Canyon; Sr.

High jump: Lizzie Tarczy; Scripps Ranch; Sr.

Pole vault: Iliana Downing; La Costa Canyon; Jr.

Shot put: Kennedi Jones; Cathedral Catholic; Sr.

Discus: Elisabeth Driscoll; Canyon Crest Academy; Jr.

Coach of the Year: Charles Tyler, Steele Canyon

Note: Based on results at CIF-San Diego Section Championships.

2023 All-CIF girls track and field team – The San Diego Union-Tribune (